Wanderlust: Rosetta Stone

The weekly theme is ‘wanderlust’. 

The Rosetta Stone found in Egypt near Rosetta by Napoleon Bonaparte. The key to decypher Egypt hieroglyphs. Now in the British Museum.

About the B4 retouch series:
I browsed my archive for pictures to publish. Some of them are partly retouched but most do have scratches, dust and stains.

England, London – September 1980

The  picture was are originally shot with a Pentax K1000 on Ilford FP4, scanned from negative and tweaked using Snapseed and Marksta. Click the picture for a larger version.

A list of other entries to this theme; if you do not want to be on this list let me know and I remove the link

6 thoughts on “Wanderlust: Rosetta Stone

  1. This fascinated me when I was a child. The only story I ever remember writing at school when I was about 10 years old was about me being the person in Napoleon’s army who worked it all out! And then 50 years later I saw it for real in London. Your post has brought back nice memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Odd…looking at the photo I am surprised at my desire to see this stone, font of so much good in unlocking the secrets of our past. I wonder, how much pressure from Egypt to give it back? Not that the Egyptians cared about it when it was found.

    Like

Comments, remarks and feedback are well appreciated!!!

